The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion; I am wasting my fucking life.

This is not what I’m supposed to be doing with my life.

I am wandering the wilderness of Cyrodiil, trying to find a shrine. Or a figurine. Or jumbo potatoes (god-damned potato stealing-Troll).  I’m having fun, of course, but is this why I’m on this world? To wander aimlessly around, exploring nooks and crannies and talking to strangers?

I’ve got a purpose, people. A reason to be here. Sure, others may be fine with the mundane life: a house, a job, some kids, some gold coins, and a couple of spells that are useful around the house. But I’m special. I should be saving the world.

Christ, look at this desk. I better clean it, again. Then I'll finally get some work done. You'll see.

I know exactly what I SHOULD be doing, too. I should go and talk to Baurus, in the Imperial City. He can give me information to help light the candles which will prevent Oblivion from encroaching. But first, well…there’s so many other cool things I could do! I could go to the Arena, and fight. That’s a good way to let off some steam. Or, since I’m already in the town of Anvil, I may as well see if the Fighter’s Guild needs anything done. I tend to get pretty good loot from Fighter’s Guild quests, and maybe that loot will help me, right?

Crap. I’m doing it again. Procrastinating.

It’s not that I’m rudderless, exactly. I’m definitely trying to better myself every day. For instance, when I travel from place to place I jump up and down a lot, to increase my Athletics skill. And there was that day that I cast Minor Life Detection 200 times so that I could increase my Mysticism skill. So I’m a better person than I was when I first left the Imperial City Prison, as a fresh-faced level 1 character.

But what do all those accomplishments add up to? I haven’t saved the world, that’s for sure. I’ve saved individual people, and I’ve even cleared out a few nasty dungeons. But that’s not what I’m supposed to be doing, really.

I am wasting my fucking life doing side quests, when I should be completing the main quest.

Maybe there’s someone in the Mage’s Guild who can help. I better question them all, and see if there’s anything I can do for any of them. Perhaps one of them has a Spell of Get Off Your Ass and Follow Your Dreams they can cast on me.

Curtis Retherford

4 responses to “The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion; I am wasting my fucking life.

  1. I heart this post. So, I guess the question is: after I’m done doing everything there is to do in the wasteland of Fallout 3, should I give this a go?

    What’s that? You say this whole post is a metaphor for how we are wasting our lives playing videogames when we should be doing something useful? I ASKED YOU IF I SHOULD BUY IT!

  2. Haha, this describes exactly how I played Oblivion.

    I still can’t believe how addicting that game is – I had to stop playing it for my sanity.

  3. I never actually finished the game. After 100+ hours I finished all the side quests, and then could not even be bothered to continue playing. I try picking it back up from time to time, but the DLC wasn’t compatible with VISTA. The graphics are a little outdated, and my skills with the game are a little rusty, so back to the shelf it goes. Though after I finish my current game perhaps I will try again.

Leave a Reply

