Blur – The Multiplayer Beta

This week I was lucky enough to receive an invite code to the Blur multiplayer beta. The thing is, I’ve never really been the racing game type. There was a three-week period there where I got really into Gran Turismo 3 on the Playstation 2, even going as far as to order a steering wheel/gas pedal system on e-bay. Unfortunately, by the time the steering wheel arrived, I was bored of the simulation gameplay of GT, and had already moved onto some other, non-racing game. I used the steering wheel once.

That said, I love the Burnout series, particularly Burnout Paradise. I have put more hours into that game than just about any game this generation (the only possible challenger being Rock Band). I love everything about Burnout, but particularly I love that I don’t have to worry about racing lines or braking properly or any of that other stuff. If I eff up, my car explodes fantastically, and I get right back to racing. That’s what I’m looking for in a racer.

And, wow, you guys, does Blur ever deliver. It’s like if Mario Kart turned into Mario Awesome Licensed Cars, fucked Burnout Paradise until it shit out a baby, trained that baby to be more like Modern Warfare 2, and then belittled that baby, saying that it should look more like Geometry Wars. “Sure you’ve got awesome cars and crazy weapons and a fucking perk system, BUT WHY ISN’T EVERYTHING SHINY AND NEON?! You’re no son of mine!”

Blur is the next game from Bizarre Creations, those guys who brought us Metropolis Street Racer on the Dreamcast, Project Gotham Racing on the Xbox, and the best-little-game-about-shooting-glowing-shapes ever made, Geometry Wars. The multiplayer is setup in the style of Modern Warfare, where you gain experience from winning races and completing challenges, your experience unlocks new vehicles and perks, and you can combine perks into customized loadouts to tweak/improve your racing.

The beta gives access to several modes, including racing with up to 20 opponents, a destruction derby mode, and a mode with A-Class cars (apparently “A-Class” is another way of saying “super fast”). Racing with 19 other players is hectic, frantic, and awesome-tic. You can hold 3 weapons at once, choosing which you want to use when, and each weapon has a primary and secondary fire. Most of them can be compared to a Mario Kart equivalent (red shell, green shell, blue shell, banana peel, etc). You can protect yourself from most of the items by countering with another item, which makes the strategy deeper than the madness of a Mario Kart, without losing that feeling of madness.

The beta is capped at ten levels, a handful of vehicles, and a few tracks, but if this is a preview of what is to come, I am very excited. Releasing a beta has shone a light on a game that I didn’t think I’d be interested in, and like Clark Kent underneath the light of the Earth’s yellow sun, this light has transformed the game into a must-buy for me, leaving me struggling to spin the Earth’s rotation in a desperate attempt to speed up time, so that maybe I can get the game faster and stop making really bad Superman metaphors.

SPECIAL REWARD FOR READING THROUGH THIS BLOG!!!! Would you like to join me in the fun of the Blur Multiplayer Beta? Well, go to http://www.blurthegame.com/beta and enter in this code:

FKTD-9TXN-YPKV-ATT9

Follow their sort of complicated instructions, and you too can be racing cars in no time. And yeah, the code only works for the first person who uses it, so get a move on.

–Adam Dorsey

Leave a Reply

